A few words on Responsibility

responsibilityRecently I decided to pay a rare visit to the cinema to watch “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug”, based on the work of one of my favourite writers of all time, J. R. R. Tolkien. I left the cinema with mixed feelings about the movie, but today’s post is not about the movie; rather it is about a small incidence that happened after the movie ended. As the credits started to roll, most of the audience started to get up and leave; not me. I decided to stay back for a little while longer trying to see if there were any surprises left after the credits. After my curiosity have been satisfied, I got up and went straight to the bathroom: you know how close-to-3-hours-long movies tend to do these things to you.

On my way there, i saw a group of youngsters just ahead of me. One of them remarked to another: “Why do you even bring it out, just leave it”, the other guy obeyed and left a cup of soft drink (presumably empty) on the floor. Now, I wasn’t about to lecture them just because that guy littered, for all I care they can do whatever they want as long as no one’s brought to harm’s way; but I didn’t feel like leaving the cup there either: they were like five steps away from the bathroom, and a few more steps to the garbage can. I walked up, determined to pick up that cup and leave it at where it’s supposed to be – until someone beat me to it. A guy walked out of the bathroom, saw the cup, picked it up, and went back into the bathroom to throw it inside the garbage can. Having no other distractions to detract me, I happily heeded the nature’s call.

Leave a Reply

